Is It Legal In Texas To Drive 5 Miles Over The Speed Limit?
I did a bunch of driving on Texas highways over the recent long holiday weekend. When I'm in my zone and the music I have playing is right, it's really hard not to press down on the accelerator. Let's face it, driving on a wide open highway for miles and miles is not the most exciting thing in the world.
If you've spent any amount of time driving on the highway, you know what I'm talking about. What would happen if I bumped the cruise control up just a bit? I'm willing to bet most of us have done it, so now it's time to answer the question. Is it legal in Texas to go just 5 miles over the speed limit?
LOOK: IS IT LEGAL IN TEXAS TO DRIVE 5 MILES OVER THE SPEED LIMIT?
The website from Stephens Law Firm answers the question. Driving 5 miles over the speed limit in Texas may not seem like a big deal, but it can still result in a ticket. While law enforcement officers have some discretion when it comes to issuing speeding tickets, exceeding the speed limit, by any amount, can lead to ticketing and fines. Some of the fines can run steep, up to $200 or more depending on the county in which it was issued.
In addition to fines, there's always the possibility of it affecting your driving record and increasing insurance rates which is also a bummer. Play it safe. Ensure your safety and that of others on the road. Obey speed limits and drive responsibly. It's always better to arrive a few minutes late than not to arrive at all.
The Lone Star State sees its share of speeders on the road. You won't believe your eyes when you see some of the citations that were issued in 2022. Check out below for the proof.