Rock and Roll Hall of Famer John Mellencamp is set to release 'Plain Spoken', his first album in 4 years later this month (Sept. 23). Fans can get a preview of what's to come with 'Sometimes There's God'.

Click here for's 'first listen' to the new Mellencamp song, which shows up as track #2 on the new album. It's a rootsy tune about a man's struggles with religion. Safe to say 'Sometimes There's God' is not like the pop rock hits that earned the 62-year old music legend his place in the Hall of Fame in 2008. The music takes a more Americana approach, along the direction of Mellencamp's 2010 CD 'No Better Than This'.

Before the new CD is released, Mellencamp will be joining Willie Nelson, Neil Young, Dave Matthews and others on stage for the 2014 Farm Aid benefit concert in North Carolina September 13th.

John Mellencamp 'Plain Spoken' track list:
1. “Troubled Man”
2. “Sometimes There’s God”
3. “The Isolation of Mister”
4. “The Company of Cowards”
5. “Tears In Vain”
6. “The Brass Ring”
7. “Freedom Of Speech”
8. “Blue Charlotte”
9. “The Courtesy of Kings”
10. “Lawless Times”