A Gary Moore box set titled Blues and Beyond has been set for release on Nov. 24.

A press release for the album describes it as a “remarkable collection of his powerful and emotive blues studio recordings” and a fitting tribute to the Irish guitarist, who died in 2011.

The set features two CDs of studio recordings plus another two CDs of newly mixed live recordings, including previously unheard versions of two tracks. Also included is new authorized biography, I Can’t Wait Until Tomorrow, and replica memorabilia items.

You can see the track listing below.

“Throughout the 1980s, Gary moved up the rock hierarchy, but turned his back on what he regarded as the empty flash of metal and reverted to his heart music – the blues – where, ironically, he scored his biggest commercial success through his 1990s and 2000s blues albums," reads the press release. “As well as running his own bands, during a successful solo career, Gary mixed with the best that rock and blues could offer. Gary was the guitarist many looked up to, not just for the terrifying speed of his fretwork, but for the passion, fire and honesty in his playing.”

The book, I Can’t Wait Until Tomorrow, was written by Harry Shapiro, who was granted exclusive access to Moore’s colleagues, friends and family. “The story begins with his early, troubled life in Belfast, which he dealt with by honing his extraordinary talent in private, becoming recognized as one of the city’s best guitarists even while still at school," according to the press release. "Leaving home at 16, the guitar prodigy began a tumultuous career first in Skid Row, then, aged only 19, an abortive attempt at running his own band and then on through the ‘70s switching with consummate ease between the hard rock of Thin Lizzy and the complex jazz rock of Jon Hiseman’s Colosseum II."

The book doesn't shy away from the more troubling aspects of Moore's life, as the release notes, “Gary never found life easy. He had demons to battle, could be his own worst enemy and made quite a few extra ones on the way. But when he suddenly died in 2011, the outpourings of admiration and grief from fellow musicians and fans around the world was heartfelt.”

Blues and Beyond is available for pre-order now, and is also available in two-CD and four-LP versions.

Gary Moore, 'Blues and Beyond' Track Listing
1. “Enough Of The Blues”
2. “Tell Me Woman”
3. “Stormy Monday”
4. “That's Why I Play The Blues”
5. “Power Of The Blues”
6. “Ball And Chain”
7. “Looking Back”
8. “Surrender”
9. “Cold Black Night”
10. “There's A Hole”
11. “Getaway Blues”
12. “We Want Love”
13. “Memory Pain”
14. “The Prophet”

1. “You Upset Me Baby”
2. “Bring My Baby Back”
3. “I Can't Quit You Baby”
4. “World Of Confusion”
5. “Picture Of The Moon”
6. “Can't Find My Baby”
7. “Drowning In Tears”
8. “Evil”
9. “My Baby (She's So Good To Me)”
10. “Ain't Got You”
11. “Just Can't Let You Go”
12. “How Many Lies”
13. “Torn Inside”
14. “Parisienne Walkways” (Live)

CD3 (box set only)
Blues And Beyond Live: (previously unreleased)
1. “Walking By Myself”
2. “Oh Pretty Woman”
3. “Need Your Love So Bad”
4. “Since I Met You Baby”
5. “Surrender”
6. “Cold Black Night”
7. “All Your Love”
8. “Still Got The Blues”

CD4 (box set only)
Blues and Beyond Live: (previously unreleased)
1. “Too Tired”
2. “The Sky Is Crying”
3. “Further On Up The Road”
4. “Fire”
5. “The Blues Is Alright”
6. “Enough Of The Blues” (Alternative)
7. “The Prophet”

Masterpieces: The Very Best Albums From More Than 100 Classic Rock Acts

More From 100.7 KOOL FM